top of page

Cyberwise Founder Wins NAMLE Teacher Award!

Hoot hoot! Cyberwise co-founder Diana Graber is being awarded the NAMLE (National Association of Media Literacy Education) Media Literacy Teacher Award for her digital and media literacy program, Cyber Civics. The award will be presented at the upcoming NAMLE Conference in Chicago on June 26-28. Sign up here to attend. Read the release below to learn more about all the award winners. Congrats to all of them!!


National Association of Media Literacy Education Announces 2017 Media Literacy Award Winners

Ceremony to Take Place at Upcoming Conference in Chicago on June 27

(Chicago, IL – June 8, 2017) – National Association of Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)

has selected its 2017 Media Literacy Award-winners including educators, scholars, organizations and media professionals from across the United States. The 2017 NAMLE Award winners will be honored at a ceremony during the NAMLE 2017 Conference “Engaging Citizens, Building Community” at Roosevelt University in Chicago at 6:30pm on June 27. Check the 2017 NAMLE Conference Program for more details.

“The NAMLE awards are an opportunity to acknowledge extraordinary work being done in the media literacy community. We are thrilled to be able to honor the efforts of our awardees at our upcoming conference.” says Michelle Ciulla Lipkin, NAMLE’s Executive Director.

Nominees for the biennial NAMLE Awards are solicited from NAMLE’s entire membership. A committee composed of NAMLE board of directors, educators and media literacy experts then evaluate and select the winners to recognize people, programs, initiatives, or organizations that:

  • Have raised the visibility of media literacy education or media literacy.

  • Have helped citizens better understand media literacy education or media literacy.

  • Have provided significant, outstanding resources that enhance the ability of educators to

practice the kind of inquiry-based media literacy education described in NAMLE’s Core Principles of Media Literacy Education.

“The awards ceremony is one of the highlights of the NAMLE conference. This year’s winners represent the growing media literacy community in the U.S. as well as leaders in the media industry doing their part to spread media literacy principles around the country”, says Tony Streit, NAMLE Conference Chair.

The Media Literate Media Awards recognize outstanding contributions of mainstream media professionals with national reach doing, covering or including media literacy in their work.

2017 Winners:

  • Adam Ruins Everything – truTV: Host and investigative comedian Adam Conover embarks on a comically inventive yet unrelentingly serious quest to reveal the hidden truths behind everything you know and love. Tackling topics ranging from immigration and forensic science and the Wild West, he gives you not just fun facts to share with friends, but information that will make you see the world in a whole new way. The series is rooted in facts and encourages critical thinking, incorporating experts from the worlds of academia, journalism, and advocacy, and providing on-screen footnotes as well as a full bibliography of sources online for every episode.

  • KQED - An NPR and PBS affiliate based in San Francisco, KQED serves the people of Northern California with a public-supported alternative to commercial media. KQED Teach courses take place in an online platform developed by KQED Learning that tracks user progress and encourages sharing and feedback through an integrated social community. Participants have access to a wide range of social media and digital media tools, allowing them to construct and remix media in multiple formats and across a variety of platforms while addressing many writing, reading, speaking and listening skills required by both the Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards.

  • “On the Media” - WNYC NPR Radio - WNYC’s weekly program is an investigation into how the media shapes our world-view hosted by Brooke Gladstone and Bob Garfield.

The Media Literacy Researcher Award specifically recognizes a researcher advancing the field of media literacy.

The Media Literacy Researcher Award specifically recognizes a researcher advancing the field of media literacy.

  • 2017 Winner: Srivi Ramusubramanian: Dr. Srividya ‘Srivi' Ramasubramanian is Associate Dean for Climate & Inclusion in the College of Liberal Arts and Associate Professor of Communication at Texas A&M University. She is Co-founder and Executive Director of Media Rise, a global alliance for media educators, creative media professionals, activists, and artists committed to media for social good with over 3000 members.

The Media Literacy Teacher Award is given to a PK-12 teacher integrating a strong media literacy curriculum. The award may be given to a teacher in any subject area, as long as their curriculum reflects strong integration of media literacy concepts.

  • 2017 Winner: Diana Graber/Cyber Civics: Ms. Graber is a nationally recognized expert on digital literacy, Co-Founder, CyberWise and Founder of Cyber Civics, a middle school media literacy curriculum now being taught in 25 states.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes a non-Board member volunteering a substantial amount of time in service of a specific NAMLE project or initiative.

  • 2017 Winner: David Magolis: Dr. Magolis is an Associate Professor of Mass Communications at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania. His primary areas of research include media literacy, multimedia communications, and emerging media technologies.

Formerly known as the Meritorious Service Award, the Elizabeth Thoman Service Award honors those who have given many years of service to the organization. NAMLE re-named the award this year in honor of Elizabeth Thoman, founding board member of NAMLE.

  • 2017 Winner: Sherri Hope Culver: Ms. Culver is the Director of the Center for Media and Information Literacy and an Associate Professor in the Department of Media Studies and Production at Temple University. Ms. Culver is a three-term past-president of NAMLE.

About the NAMLE 2017 Conference: NAMLE’s 2017 Conference will be held June 26-28 at Roosevelt University in Chicago, Illinois. The timely theme “Engaging Citizens, Building Community" identifies

the mission of the conference to explore the relationships between media literacy education, civic participation and community-building within our contemporary culture. Scholars, educators, media professionals, students, and activists interested in furthering media literacy education are encouraged to attend. NAMLE’s leadership role in organizing and convening professional development conferences in the field of media literacy education is unparalleled. NAMLE convenes media literacy educators and leaders expand the knowledge and practice of media literacy education in the United States. Through NAMLE’s biennial conference, contacts and networks emerge, promising practices are disseminated, future projects are conceived and the field grows.


With more than 3,800 members, The National Association for Media Literacy Education NAMLE is a national non-profit organization dedicated to media literacy as a basic life skill for the 21st century. NAMLE is the leading voice, convener and resource to foster critical thinking and effective communication for empowered media participation. NAMLE Membership for individuals is FREE. Sponsorships and organizational partnerships are welcomed at, and donations to support NAMLE’s efforts to improve media literacy education can be made here.

bottom of page